It’s been several months since I posted; I can’t believe it. I moved back home and am back at my old starbucks. Time seems to be flying by but I”m not really sure I’m going anywhere with it. The only interesting thing I’ve done in the last three months is tried to grow mushrooms. They’re completely different from anything I’ve ever worked with and I’m not entirely sure I’ll be very good at it. If I can get just one mushroom out of all of this then I suppose I’ll have succeeded though. I bought spawn offline for $18 and then “planted” it in some used coffee grounds from work. It was fun just to mix it all in, and watching it grow has been crazy. The first day there were just a few white spots and now the entire container is covered in white. It’s crazy how fast the mycelium grows! I’ll post pictures when I get a chance. I never seem to have enough time for anything. I work all day and come home and suddenly it’s time for sleep. I never even have the energy to do anything until I’m supposed to be going to bed for the night.

I’ve been asked to volunteer at a school my aunt works at as an administrator. Its a private school and they’re considered very progressive, with class sizes under 15 and a campus on 12 acres of woods. Tomorrow I get to tour the campus for a second time and I’ll be meeting with the teachers to talk about what everyone is thinking. I’ve never done anything like this before, so I’m a little nervous. I’ve got a few pages of notes on what to plant and when, and I’ll be looking up more information on everything as we get closer to actually putting things into the ground. So far I’ve got the go-ahead for planting crops, getting a worm bin going, getting bee habitat made, and building some bat houses. I’m not entirely sure what any of this will look like though. Do I create the curriculum to give to teachers? Am I teaching the kids about the topics before they go and build bat houses/bee boxes? Are we building that together? I just don’t know what this is going to look like at all and so far its feeling like a mess. Communication has been a real issue already, so I want to get a really clear understanding of whats expected of me. We’ll find out what happens tomorrow!

Oh, here’s a random little “highlight” from my week. One of my favorite customers who I’ve known since I started working at my store (1 year ago on the 3rd of this month) thought I was in my 30s. He asked me about it this week because he wanted to reference something from the early 90s from before I was even alive. I was like, I JUST turned 21 a month ago! He didn’t believe me and I had to show him my ID card. He told me I was just so mature he thought I was really in my 30s. I told him he was an asshole and that he needed to get out of my store, lol. My average assumed age has been 26 since I was 18, with 29 being the absolute oldest ever. I couldn’t believe it.

The only other exciting thing I’ve done this year is bought a Surface Pro 3. I just bought it this weekend because my Macbook Pro was failing and I thought it would be fun to get something new. It cost 6 weeks pay but so far its been really fun. I think once I get fully settled in I’ll really enjoy it. I like how versatile it is, and because its so lightweight and compact I can sit in almost any position and still use it comfortably. Anyway, its late and I meant to be going to sleep now. I’ll try to post again soon!

