This last week has been rather stressful here. My mom and I are not getting along at all. She had a friend over on Friday, which meant that I was automatically expected to do everything around the house. I was reminded everyday of what I should’ve already done, and if I told her of a compliment I was given she would immediately say that I wasn’t as whatever it was someone had said I was. Nothing I’ve been doing has been good enough in recent weeks, and I’m in trouble for working as much as I do at my aunts, because not much is getting done around here. She told me I had to get a job because she couldn’t afford my car insurance and phone and school stuff, but now that I’ve got one she’s mad that I’m not also doing everything I was before. She asks me to “help” her, which means that I need to go and do everything and anything she can think of. Yesterday she asked me to prune a tree as I was walking out the door to go spend time with a friend I haven’t seen in a year.

Last weekend was the lavender festival in Sequim, which is just under two hours away. I’ve been looking forward to going for weeks, but my sister came up and my mom invited her along with us, and I refused to spend 4 hours in the car with her. So my mom just canceled the trip. The same thing happened when I asked about going to see Wicked, which I’ve never seen before. I asked about it weeks ago, and then when she asked me to again to make sure I was serious about going she said she’d be buying three tickets. So now none of us are going. I don’t understand why I’m being punished. I’ve done nothing wrong. I’m a good kid, I get good grades, people like me and tell me I’m years ahead of my age on a regular basis, but my mother treats me like I’m some good for nothing hoodlum. I read beekeeping books for fun for christ sake!

I’ve been out of the house as much as possible in the last week, but my mom doesn’t seem to realize its an effect of her behavior. She and I have the worst communication skills. I’ll tell her the simplest thing in the world and she’ll have no clue what I’m talking about. She has to ask me the same question half a dozen times before I eventually give up and have to spell myself out like I would to someone who had never heard of the concept or to someone who spoke a different language. Literally for the simplest things. I took my yard work stuff to my aunts with my dogs in my moms car (since hers is bigger) and one of the dogs knocked my knee pad, which was covered in dirt, off of my weeding bucket. The knee pad fell onto the seat and covered it in a fine layer of dust. She couldn’t for the life of her figure out how her back seat had gotten dirty, after I explained it to her in at least 4 different ways.

I’m miserable here. I spent the whole of Sunday shut in my room because that was the day we were supposed to go to the festival, and instead of even taking my sister they napped for most of the day. Like my plans had meant nothing and could easily be canceled. I’m also in trouble for not speaking to my sister. My mom has totally sided with her in this situation, as she always does, and I am once again the bad guy. My sister’s on some new diet scheme and this time my mom’s doing it with her, as a measure of support. This is, of course, being done behind my dads back, because it involves some naturopath drops, which he is entirely against. If they were a diet pill from an info-mercial, he’d be fine, but because they’re from a naturopath they’re considered with-doctory and shouldn’t be used. Like, what kind of message is my mom sending my sister? “Don’t tell your dad this, don’t tell your dad that. If you’re going to do that you’re going to have to do it behind your dad’s back.” It’s completely underhanded and will eventually ruin several of her relationships I’m sure. And my mom is a completely manipulative person. She tried to get me drunk on Saturday so I would talk to my sister. She was literally forcing wine on me. It took me less than half a glass to figure out what she was doing and immediately leave the house. Like, who does that?!

I hate it here. I totally understand why other people my age go to college across the country. I’ve been planning to stay here for 4 or 5 more years, until I finish college and save up enough for an apartment, but I honestly don’t think I can last that long. I’m the type of person who spends most of their time at home, but I’ve been gone more in the last week than I have in the last year. I spent the night at my friends house twice, and spending the night anywhere is something I never do.

In other news, Sam somehow cut his front foot, so he’s limping even worse than normal. Kira was running around with Buttercup yesterday and stepped on her foot funny or something, because she started yipping and immediately limped over to me. She’s been limping everywhere, and puts as little weight on her front right paw as possible. Jumping is also extremely difficult for her; mostly jumping down from things. Only Buttercup is doing fine, and she’s even avoided being stung for several weeks.

Anyway, I have to go. I should’ve left for my aunts an hour ago.

