I planted turnips last year, but I don’t like turnips so I never dug them up. Instead I decided to let them bloom, and found out that my honeybees love them. Which of course meant I now had to let them go to seed so I could plant them again. Unbeknownst to me, purple finches seem to enjoy turnips seeds. Which means I had two of them eating from my turnip stalks yesterday. It was so cute! After they flew off I had to go inspect the plants to see what they’d done. They had nibbled off a few pods and there was little bird poops on the rocks holding up that small section of the yard. With any luck we’ll get wild turnips around the area now.

 

Here’s a honeybee on a rhododendron. I didn’t know they liked them… actually, now that I think about it, wasn’t there a species of rhododendron that produced poisonous honey in Rome or Greece back in ‘ancient’ times? I feel like I remember reading about that somewhere…

Anyone know what kind of pollinator this is? I think its a species of bumble bee, but I’m not sure.

I don’t know what this plant is called, but honeybees LOVE it. We’ve got it scattered all over the yard, and unfortunately it hasn’t gotten to be a large enough population yet. It spreads like strawberries though, through plants the mother plants sends out on long runners, so the population should more than double by next spring. Which really is going to make weeding impossible…

This yellow jacket (? [I’m horrible at identifying between hornets, wasps, and yellow jackets]) was very interested in our peonies. She crawled over this bud for a while, as if looking for pollen or nectar or something. I know ants pollinate peonies, and we even have a ‘wild’ one that’s popped up in the yard, and because ants and yellow jackets are related, maybe yellow jackets pollinate them as well? I dunno, just a theory.

