I’ve been meaning to make my neighbors some cookies because S gave me a ride last week and F took us out to dinner… Saturday? Anyway. I messed up a few things in the process of making the bread, but in the end these are the biggest loaves I’ve made yet (they’re the size they’re supposed to be) so hopefully nothing’s wrong. I softened the butter in the microwave before I mixed it into the milk, which I hadn’t done the last two times. I used margarita salt again because we didn’t have enough table salt to fit the recipe. And then I salted the rim of my coffee cup and drank some mixer. Lol. I put in 6 cups of flour instead of the 5 cups I did for the last two batches. And, I left the dough in the glass bowl I’d mixed it in originally and put the bowl on the burner on the stove (with the burner turned up just a little warmer than Low). This is what I credit with my success and failure. The dough began to bake in the bowl and stuck it’s self to the bottom of the dish. I had to literally chisel off the bread with a wooden spoon.

I kneaded the dough to even out the warmth in it, and to make it evenly moist again. I then wrapped it in a towel and let it sit in a different bowl while I cleaned out the glass one. After about half an hour I split the dough and put it in the two bread pans, draping the towel over the top. I left them on the counter and forgot about them and took a nap. My mom called and woke me up and rushed me out to dinner before I had time to remember them. I’d set the stove to the right temp, but didn’t turn it on because I wanted to wait for the dough to rise. I remembered the dough at dinner and kind of freaked out because I almost thought I’d left the oven on lol. It was so cliché and something I didn’t think I’d ever say that I couldn’t help but laugh. My cousin is up from college for a day or two because she’s sick and wanted a break. Her parents are too nice. Her college is a 3 hour drive away. Not happening.

Anyway, I made it home and found that the dough had risen up out of the pans and was lifting the towel up. I was really excited. Here’s a picture of the dough.

 

And here’s the bread.

Don’t bother asking about the sign in the back. I don’t know what it is our where it came from or why it’s in my kitchen. I just live here.

Anyway, that was my day for the most part. I’ve got a huge project due wednesday which I haven’t started yet. I’ve got two paragraphs due tomorrow on movies I’ve only seen half of. And a test on 40’s to make up after school tomorrow as well. I’ve also got a weeks worth of math homework to catch up on and a math test to retake sometime this week. Yeah. We’ll see what happens. And despite it being 9 o clock, it’s still light out. I have no inclination to be inside at the moment. I just want to sit on my back patio and watch the world. I’d also like to take a walk through the woods. Oh! I knew we had a bird identification book somewhere, but couldn’t find it, so I asked my mom and she found it within thirty seconds. I’m super excited. I really want a butterfly book too. I think I’ll go to borders and see what they have.

