I can’t even begin to tell you how nice today was. I slept in until 9:30 and had absolutely no commitment to anything. I did a bit of weeding, contemplated the meaning of life, showered. I even got to READ. I haven’t read in months. My current book is Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman. It’s written almost like a children’s novel, with the only adult content being the occasional swear word. I’m only 70 sum pages in, so we’ll see how it goes. The weather was marvelous though. It was so hot at one point that I had to stop working and go sit in the shade. The sun managed to coat everything in a marvelous yellow so that the entire world seems coated in gold. Thankfully my sister left early in the day so I got to enjoy the serenity of my yard without interruption.

I’m going to order my hive tomorrow. My mom wants me to call the city to triple check about the laws/codes so that we’re SURE that where we want to put the hive is ok. Where I’m thinking is 20 feet away from the “wall” which has a six foot fence on top of it. And it’s 25+ feet down hill from a chain link fence which has enormous shrubs growing next to it. I’m pretty sure that everything is legal. I’ve just got to register is the thing. And I’m not exactly sure how to do that. After I ok with the city though, I’m going to call and order from Ruhl Bee Supply in Oregon. That is, I’m going to call all these places if I can find the courage. I’m perfectly fine with email, and talking face to face, but for some reason the idea of calling people freaks me out. Like I can NOT do it. I put off calling B for almost two weeks. And even when I needed to talk to him these last few days, I texted him to find out his email. I can’t stand talking on the phone.

I think I have anxiety problems or something. Because I’ll be talking with people, and all of the sudden I get really tense. All of my muscles tense up and I have to move so I don’t have a spaz attack. I’m really fidgety because of it. I’ll be talking to my MOM for Christ sake and have to be doing something. My hands ALWAYS have to be doing something. I think that’s why I enjoy wearing a ring so much because it’s easy to fidget with. I’m constantly taking it off and putting it on. I haven’t worn it since school got out… which was yesterday. Today didn’t feel like ONE day. I seemed to get lost in time; I could feel weeks passing. And it wasn’t a bad thing. It felt really nice actually. Like I was in a state of nirvana. I really hope the rest of my summer feels like that. It was so nice. I just sat in one of the outdoor dinning chairs and watched the yard. We had a total of 9 dragonflies flitting about the yard at one point. I love dragonflies. They’re the main reason I want a pond actually.

They’re a predatory bug, eating annoying little bugs as adults and mosquito larvae as larvae. I’d also really enjoy some… lacewing flies? I can’t remember the name of them at the moment. They’re like dragonflies only their two sets of wings flap at separate times instead of together like a dragonfly’s. I’ll probably remember tomorrow. It’s something really simple too…

