Ok I guess I should start writing my evening post since all I’m doing is sitting here staring at my dashboard. I know I should probably be out promoting my blog, but… I’m not. Lol. Ok so anyway, I spent the day out visiting my grandfather. Every time I go out there, I want to move. Its basically the middle of no where but (you know me) I’m not a person who thrives on civilization. There are a bunch of places where there’s 4+ acres for sale and I couldn’t tell you how much I would love to buy one up. Do you know what I could do with 4 acres? My mom’s bank would break and her credit cards would be maxed, let’s just say that.

At the moment however, I’m doing the best I can in the little plot of land I call home. I told you yesterday how I was going out to the woods to “relocate” a few things right? Specifically huckleberries? Now before you start lecturing me about damaging the environment and stealing from a nature preserve, I didn’t steal anything, and I didn’t take from a nature preserve. My grandfathers… girlfriend/ex-fiancé/significant other owns some land in a private community type place and her property had more huckleberries than I’ve ever seen in one location. They were growing like weeds. And she had no idea what they were, so she’d been cutting them down! So if anything I actually saved these… six huckleberries I’ve taken. We also took some yellow-flowering thing (the name of which I don’t remember) and some… salal? I don’t remember what it is exactly. But here, see if you can tell what’s been added.

 

There’s one huckleberry. 

This is the salal, or whatever you call it. I really need to study up on plant names.

Another huckleberry and some of the yellow flowers.

Two more huckleberries.

And some more of the yellow flowers. We also took some weird variegated ground cover (my mom didn’t know the name and neither did my grandfather so I have no idea what it’s called) but I forgot to plant it until it was much darker out so you won’t get to see that until tomorrow. I just hope it rains tonight.

Here are the last two huckleberries, along with a vining maple (we put ours in the front behind some things so you can’t see it just yet) which will go to my aunt. And yes, that is the container that the lilac was in. What can I say, I like to reuse things. Plus it’s a nice size container so I couldn’t just throw it out.

When we went out to my grandfathers girlfriends house, I was expecting to be getting down and dirty in the mud while attempting to dig these plants up. She went over and just started yanking things up like they were nothing. The roots are all intact and look fine so I honestly think all the plants are going to survive. We didn’t take any of the dirt with us, but I don’t know if that will matter in the long run. Hopefully they all do great (I wasn’t expecting to take six) but we’ll just have to wait and see. They were all little enough that they should be alright.

Oh and guess what else I got while I was at my grandfathers? Some beans.

Some beans. These beans have been in the family for over six generations. My great great great (great?) grandfather brought these (or rather the parents of these) up from Missouri with him in his back pocket when he came up to Washington. With that in mind, I’ve been entrusted with the next generation. I guess my great (x4) grandfather was a farmer, which I find to be kind of funny. It explains my green thumb a bit. Growing things is quite literally rooted into my blood. I’m excited to get these in the ground, and will begin the germination process tomorrow. Lima beans are almost impossible not to start so I’ll be surprised if I don’t get a crop this year. Like REALLY surprised.

I also learned a new technique of growing things and will be trying it out possibly next year, once I get the yard all on track and the green house up and working. Apparently you start your corn at the normal time, and then wait until it’s about half a foot to a foot tall before you plant your beans RIGHT next to them. When I say right next to, I mean plant them so the beans can grow up the corn stalk. This may sound like it would be a bad thing, but the beans put nitrogen back into the soil so it’s actually really beneficial to the corn. It’s like a symbiotic relationship; both plants benefit, and you have to do a lot less work and reap a ton of rewards. But that’s not all. After a few more weeks and the beans are established enough, you plant some squash. The squash acts as a ground cover and keeps the ground wet so that you don’t have to water excessively. I guess the Native Americans used to do this all the time. It’s also a great example of permaculture, which I plan to practice throughout my yard. It saves huge amounts of energy and is a greater benefit to the plants. Now all I need is some money and I’ll be set.

Here’s one more picture before I’m done.

 

I’ve showed this to you already, but it’s so pretty I couldn’t help taking another picture. The hummingbirds have even come down to sip from these. These, combined with the other patch 10 feet away, make two beautiful blue splotches in the yard. I just can’t believe how many bulbs there are. I mean that’s a 6’ x 3’ patch of JUST bluebells. There are a few white and pink bells also, but it’s mostly the blue variety.

Anyway, that’s all I got for you today. I’m not looking forward to tomorrow. I’ve got a rough draft of an essay due tomorrow, and I’ve got to write a review of the school play. It was actually really funny. I might post it, if I remember to.

