I found out that a friend of mine has been being abused physically by her father. He’s a drunk and is violent towards her sometimes apparently. My father became VERY violent when he was drunk, though I don’t know if that’s the case here. She told me today that he about some of the things he’s done, like grabbing her by her hair and hitting her because she told her brother to shut up. When I heard that – I can’t even describe to you what I felt. Anger, rage, recollection, fear, and anger again. My father had done almost exactly the same thing to me a few years ago. We had been looking at flowers in a Lowes parking lot and my dad had picked four he liked and placed them on the ground at his feet. It was his birthday so in his opinion that gave him ultimate power over the world. I could tell he was going to ask me to pick them up so I walked away to look at more flowers before he could. He asked ordered me to right as I turned into the other isle. I looked at some flowers for less then a second and turned back. I walked straight up to him without any expression on my face. I wasn’t going to be rude, though I was mad that he was pulling this shit again, but I didn’t show anything on my face. Before I knew what was happening he had my hair (which was long at the time) wrapped around his fingers, my head bent back so that my hole body had to bend backwards to correct the crick in my neck, and had his face less than an inch from mine. He shouted at me about being rude or insubordinate (though he didn’t use that word, he doesn’t even know it) or something like that and said that it was his birthday so I should be nice to him. Yea, that’s what I want to do. Be nice to the asshole I’ve hated for as long as I can remember. Then he thrust me into an upright position and ordered me to pick up the flowers that were still at his feet. Then we proceeded to through to the store like nothing was wrong. We were in a deserted part of the parking lot and at an angle that not even the cars could see us from the road, so no one saw what he did. I remembered this as my friend told me the rest of her story. I was furious for her, sorry for her, defensive of her and a hundred other things all at once while I listened to her. She was really embarrassed about all of it. I could tell she was nervous telling me this, worried about how I’d react. All I could say was “Wow I’da – yea…” I wanted to tell her what I’d have done in her situation (which would’ve been to fight like hell) but I knew she couldn’t handle that and it would’ve made me sound stupid anyway. So instead I just said that she was welcome anytime at my house. Anytime she needed to be away she could come over. Honestly the only thing I can think about right now is going over to her house and kicking her dad’s ass. She was supposed to come over yesterday to work on a project for science but her dad wouldn’t let her. I really want to go over there and give him a piece of my mind. I know it would only make things worse, and wouldn’t solve anything, but it would make me feel damn good. I won’t of course. I won’t bring anything up while her dad is around. I won’t bring up anything at all. I know only too well what that hole situation/ issue/ dilemma feels like.

